top of page

Meet Win Thurlow: MedTech's New Executive Director


I recently had the privilege of speaking to Winthrop (Win) Thurlow, the newest leader of the MedTech team. For those of you who are unaware, Win replaced MedTech's former President Jessica Crawford, who left our association in May to work for the German pharmaceutical company Boehringer Ingelheim.

Before accepting his new role at MedTech, Win most recently served as VP for University Compliance and Ethics at Upstate Medical University, a current member of ours. He also worked as Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Syracuse office between 1999 and 2007.

An established leader, Win simultaneously serves as President and CEO for a company named Enterprise Excellence in addition to his role at MedTech. According to Linkedin, Enterprise Excellence specializes in assisting businesses, universities, not-for-profits, municipalities and healthcare providers by ensuring regulatory compliance, establishing ethical cultures and fostering institutional integrity through: policy development, conflicts identification and management, internal controls and leadership/employee training.

I'm very grateful that Win took the time out his day to compose thoughtful responses to my questions. My interview with him covers diverse topics ranging from his personal background to MedTech's hypothetical future. In my opinion, his answers illuminate the current state of our organization very well, and demonstrate that MedTech has a chance to grow significantly in the upcoming years.

Q: What can you tell me about yourself?

A: My wife and I live in Syracuse and are the parents of a son and a daughter, both college students. For many years, my biggest hobby was running – I’ve completed over thirty marathons, including a dozen Boston Marathons. Unfortunately, I’ve recently been sidelined with a chronic knee injury that prevents me from running. I’m hoping that a MedTech member will develop a cure or device that will get me back on the road soon!

I’m also an avid gardener and I serve on the boards of a number of not-for-profit and civic organizations.

Q: How do you think your prior professional positions have prepared you for your leadership position with MedTech?

A: My career has focused on strengthening organizations to achieve strategic goals. I am a firm believer that all successful businesses share a commitment to ethics and integrity. I recently toured the facilities of two MedTech members – Tapecon and SoPark – where I witnessed that commitment in action. To borrow a phrase, we do well when we do good. I hope to bring that energy and a renewed sense of enthusiasm to MedTech and its member organizations.

Q: What made you interested in becoming the executive director of MedTech?

A: I am a life-long resident of Upstate New York, I have a background in economic development and I’ve spent the last ten years working in the areas of university-industry collaboration and the commercialization of bio-technology developments at an academic medical center and research institution. I am convinced that the future of this state and region lies in the Bio/Med Industry. I am excited to be a part of that future.

Our tag line says it all: “connecting New York’s Bio/Med Industry.” MedTech’s goal is to develop the relationships, tools and programs that enable our members to bring tomorrow’s medical solutions to the healthcare marketplace. I can’t think of a more exciting place to be.

Q: MedTech’s next big event is the 2017 Annual Conference. Can we expect anything different this year?

A: The theme of this year’s conference is “Disrupt NY: Harnessing the Power of Partnership.” We’re really leaning into that theme with speakers and programs aimed at providing proven solutions to shared challenges. We’ll have a special emphasis on the challenges facing start-ups, how to best navigate the regulatory environment and ways of unleashing innovation and technology to propel business strategy.

We will also be highlighting the advancements of the Bio/Med Industry in Buffalo and the Niagara Frontier. Exciting things are happening in this region and we hope to share the “secret sauce” with participants. There is something for you whether you live and work in the Buffalo area and want to hop on the bio-technology wave, or if you are from another part of the state/region and want to replicate Buffalo’s success in your own hometown.

Q: Where do you see MedTech in five years?

A: In my view, the future of the organization lies in growth, and I believe we are well positioned for that over the next five years. I’d like to see us deepen our presence within New York State and extend our reach farther into New England, the Mid-Atlantic/Great Lakes regions and Ontario. I hope that we can achieve this growth through strengthening our core functions of collaboration, education and advocacy.

To best serve our members, MedTech must be nimble and responsive. I plan to spend the next few months on the road, meeting and talking with as many members as possible. I want to hear from you about how we’re doing and how we can improve our services.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page